April 12, 2013

  • I'll be offensive to some again....

    OK, here's the deal.

    I respect your Second Amendment rights fight.  To me the Constitution is one of the most amazing documents humankind ever managed to put together.

    But here's the thing.

    Where were all the "you'll pry my gun from my cold dead hands" because it's my Constitutional right to have them! when the Patriot Act was passed which not only walked all over your Fourth Amendment rights but literally stomped them to shreds?

    I noticed an astonishing silence then.  After all, we were protecting the country by passing that.

    If you are bent out of shape thinking that the government is looking to single out gun owners by requiring background checks, I have news for you.  Every time you spend over a grand for something or move that amount of money or more, there's a record of that to the government.    If you've ever bought cold medicine and had to sign your name, the itty bitty fine print states that you are giving the government permission to go through whatever of your records they need to without contacting you.  So, that credit card purchase of a gun?  The government knows you have it.  Moved money around to do home repairs or got a car loan?  The government knows your stuff.

    So strap your gun on your hip or over your shoulder, get out your NRA shirts and parade around in public claiming your Second Amendment rights.  But please don't claim to be protecting the Constitution unless you are willing to fight for the Fourth Amendment as well.

    By the way, this is my congressman.  Doesn't he look tough?

     

     

Comments (4)

  • He doesn't inspire confidence in me, that's for sure. I mean, look at that colour coordination.

  • I read that there have over 3800 gun deaths since Sandy Hook. How can more guns and less checks possibly be the answer?

  • My senator is Joe Manchin. I was not just a little bit worried that he would be a lap dog for the NRA, but he has stepped up to the plate on background checks, sponsoring the current bill. Go, Go, Joe! I sent him a little note to encourage him to keep voting in the same vein.

    It is a whole new sensation to be proud of your government official, even for such a small step. I don't even know how to feel. I'm cautiously cautious of being optomistic.

  • @Lovegrove - yeah, well....the shirt was probably free....he is a government official after all....

    @BookMark61 - we are awfully dense, aren't we?

    @DMMeyer - wow....you should write a book about that....it's such a unique idea!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment