December 7, 2012

  • Of two minds today…..

    I’m of two minds today. 

    Part of me is upset that the nurse who was pranked by the idiot DJs has killed herself.  I’m sure that by now you have heard about the prank played on the nurses while Prince William’s wife Kate was hospitalized recently with a bad bout of morning sickness.  One of the nurses who took the call from the DJs was found dead today, most likely of a suicide.

     I’m astounded at how many are not wanting to hold the DJs culpable in anyway as in “after all, She killed herself!”. While they may not have handed her the pills or whatever the action was that took her life, by exposing her to ridicule around the world, they played a hand in this tragedy. Actions have consequences folks…..

    The second thing that has me wondering about my own response to life came about because of a tragedy much closer to home.  A man, wanting revenge on his former girlfriend, set fire to a house where he was convinced that she was staying.  The residents of the house were a family of four.  The husband was at work, the wife was in bed, as was a three year old and a two year old.  As the fire took hold in the old house, the woman tried to get herself and her kids out, but the littlest one, a boy, let go of her hand and disappeared.  She had no choice but to jump from a second floor bedroom with the older child, a girl, in her arms.  Upon landing, she broke her back but jumped up and was screaming for help and managed to wake the other two college aged residents on the other side of the duplex. The man who set the fire, upon hearing that there was a death, celebrated, believing that he had killed the ex girlfriend who had jilted him.  (The ex had a PFA against him and was moving from place to place to avoid him.)  This morning, the arsonist was found hanging in his cell.  He had committed suicide. 

    My “other mind” was appalled because when I heard that the man who set the fire that killed the little boy had hung himself in jail, was that my first response was to be glad about that.  That was jarring, since I usually feel that the person who kills themself must be in a deep, dark place….

    Suicide is a difficult subject to discuss.  We do not know the mind of the person who tries/succeeds it, but we assume that they are in a deep dark place.  I guess some people are in a deep dark place long before that desire to end it all takes place.

    I am just dismayed that for a moment, I was glad that someone had died because I thought he deserved it.  Maybe I’m not so good of a person as I thought….

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *